Waste Collection & Disposal


Waste Collection and Disposal

The Summer Village of Birch Cove does not have door to door waste collection.


7 km west on Hwy. 43 from Hwy. 33Junction
Main Site Phone:  (780)967-3466  Fax:  (780)967-3710

Operating Hours:        9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Regional Main Site:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday, CLOSED Sunday

  • No smoking is permitted on site
  • On site speed limits are posted for your safety
  • All vehicles entering and leaving the site must cross the scale
  • All loads must be covered, tarped and tied down


Disposal Fees:

$ 6.00 minimum charge for 1 to 100 Kilograms
$57.50 per tonne ($0.0575 per kg.) 101 ilograms and up
Out of County – $62.50 per tonne


Refrigerators, Deep Freezes or any Refrigeration Unit: $25.00 per unit
If accompanied by “Freon Removed Certificate” $10.00 per unit
Stoves, Dishwashers, Washers, Dryers, Hot Water Tanks, Pressure Tanks etc. $10.00 each
*All furniture with springs (couches, mattresses, etc.) $10.00 each
Computers/Televisions No Charge


General Metals & Wire etc. – steel drums are accepted if empty and not previously used for hazardous waste $57.50 per tonne
Propane tanks accepted if vented to the atmosphere.


Tires: Car & Truck Tires: (up to 22 inch) No charge
Large Equipment Tires: $120.00 each


Concrete or Tree Stumps (no mixed loads):

Clean Demolition concrete and/or clean stumps of any size $20.00 per tonne


Restricted Wastes:

  • Vehicle Hulks
  • Human Wastes
  • Liquid Waste
  • Hospital Wastes
  • Hazardous Wastes
  • Creosote Soaked Wood (RR Ties)
  • Sewage & Septic Wastes
  • Animal Carcasses
  • Chemical Wastes
  • Paints, Solvents
  • Radio Active Wastes
  • Animal SRM



Scavenging is strictly prohibited        . . . . . . .     Children must remain in vehicles


TERMS:          Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Interac, Charge Accounts – OAC

*Effective:    August 1st, 2010




  • All recyclable materials should be clean & free of food residue
  • Bottles and jars should have lids removed (lids can go in the metal bin)
  • If you save tin cans in plastic bags, put the tins in the metal bin and the bag in the plastic bin
  • For the system to work, source separation is absolutely essential


PAPER: Includes colored paper, white bond, newspaper, magazines and catalogues
CARDBOARD: Box board (e.g. cereal boxes & shoe boxes) and corrugated cardboard boxes
METAL: Tin cans, aerosol cans, metal lids
CLEAR GLASS: Household jars, bottles, window glass

Code 1 – PET (Polyethylene terephthalate) soft drink bottles, detergent and cleaner containers, food trays, that can be heated in the oven

Code 2 – HDPE (high density polyethylene) mild, water & juice jugs and laundry and dish detergent bottles, oil & antifreeze containers, personal care products, grocery bags

Code 3 – V (Vinyl/polyvinyl chloride) cooking oil, vegetable oil and salad dressing bottles, shrink-wrap and blister packs

Code 4 – LDPE (low density polyethylene), primarily flexible films such as grocery, bread and garbage bags

Code 5 – PP (Polypropylene) cereal box liners, snack wraps and bags

Code 6 – PS (Polystyrene) plastic cutlery, foam plates, trays and egg cartons

Code 7 – Other (products made of multiple or other types of resins) typical products are snack bags, squeezable bottles, juice boxes




Highway 43 East Waste Commission is made up of 16 member municipalities: Lac Ste. Anne County, Towns of Mayerthorpe and Onoway, Village of Alberta Beach, Summer Villages of Birch Cove, Castle Island, Nakamun Park, Ross Haven, Sandy Beach, Silver Sands, South View, Sunrise Beach, Sunset Point, West Cove, Val Quentin and Yellowstone.


The Commission operates the main Landfill Site located on Highway 43 East  –  55228 RGE RD 35


Contact:   Mr. Mike Primeau  (780)785-3411 or  1-866-880-5722



Lac Ste. Anne County operates 8 Transfer Stations located near Rich Valley, Onoway, Darwell, Cherhill, Sangudo, Rochfort Bridge, Mayerthorpe and Hillcrest for use by County taxpayers only.  Waste collected at the Transfer Stations is hauled to the Main Landfill Site and paid for by Lac Ste. Anne County.  Lac Ste. Anne County residents must have a Transfer Station Permit card to access these sites.  Residents of Towns, Villages and Summer Villages within the County do not pay towards the operation of these Transfer Stations, so they are NOT entitled to use them.


Contact:  Ms. Christina Hudson (780)785-3411 or 1-866-880-5722


Our mission is to operate our site efficiently, safely and in an environmentally responsible manner, while providing the highest quality waste disposal to both public and private customers.